24 hours to go until the ‘greatest show on Earth’

June 10, 2010

So here we are then, just another day to go before the World Cup starts. I don’t know about you, but I’m almost wetting myself in excitement.

I love the World Cup. I especially love going out to watch matches with a combination of England, Scotland and Ireland fans as the atmosphere and banter are just brilliant. It is a shame that this tournament will be missing both sets of fans (I’m certain the South African publicans are quite dismayed!) but the tournament has the promise of being quite some spectacle.

The South Africans are creating a phenomenal atmosphere already, and the ‘vuvuzela’ is something I think we’ll all be very familiar with in the next few days. However, despite my excitement there is a little feeling of disappointment inside me. I don’t want to get too deep into that negativity on the eve of the World Cup but I refuse to ‘gloss over’ it. Instead, I’ll be brief.

So many companies have priced supporters from the rest of the world out of going to the competition. Flights and hotels have been out of so many people’s price range, so the competition may lack the ‘cosmopolitan’ feel many were hoping for. Much of the country’s infrastructure is behind schedule, such as road-widening and transport links. Even the police have already shown that they’ll be extremely heavy-handed quite simply out of necessity. Understandable when the ticketing systems appear faulty, such as the Johannesburg stampede a few days ago, but there has been several years to resolve this. FIFA have claimed they are not responsible for this, and I really want to believe them, but with their record I’ll hold judgement, thank you very much! Then there is South Africa’s extraordinary crime rate….

That being said, the South Africans have been looking forward to this since FIFA awarded them the competition, and will be determined to show the rest of the world that our fears are unfounded. Indeed, they have put on brilliant tournaments in the past. Last year’s Lions tour was exceptional (despite the dodgy refereeing decisions!) and so was the Rugby World Cup of 1995, so the country has a history of delivering on the big stages.

But now on to the football itself, and how do we think the tournament will go. I for one rate England’s chances. There’s a clear ‘plan B’ at this competition, something Sven could never manage. Providing England don’t suffer a major injury crisis you never know. My guess is the semi finals, and from there who knows? But perhaps that’s the idealist speaking.

If I’m being realistic, the best side in the world is the Spanish. With a midfield including the likes of Xavi, Fabregas and in my opinion, the best midfielder on the planet, Andres Iniesta, they have a chance. When they have Fernando Torres and David Villa up front, they look frightening! Then there is Brazil, who always perform. But that’s the easy option.

I’m expecting the Ivory Coast to perform, and the entire African continent to get behind them after South Africa’s group stage elimination. Indeed, I fully expect Portugal to be out after the group games, especially if Côte d’Ivoire get Drogba fit. I even have a sneaky fiver on the Dutch, which at 14/1 looks a steal.

All I do know is I will do everything I can to ensure I don’t miss a single kick. I hope you’ll all enjoy it as much as I do, and get yourselves back here so we can discuss the tournament as it happens. It’s moments like this the ‘beer fridge’ was invented for! Let’s hope that beer is used for celebration and not commiseration this time around…

As always, your comments are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

