Capello’s squad: my view

June 2, 2010

Well, we can see my man Ross’ take on the England squad. He’s clearly disappointed with who has been picked, or more to the point, who has been left out. I’m not feeling quite so negative, however.

I think Upson has been picked over Dawson because he has more experience, and being left-footed, he also offers more balance. My biggest disappointment is that Capello didn’t just take the seven defenders, as this might have allowed an extra midfielder. I totally understand the omission of Walcott, who hasn’t performed since that hat-trick in Croatia.

However, I feel Adam Johnson would have been a really shrewd pick from Capello, with him being naturally left footed he offers real balance, and he can play on the right if necessary. I think Capello has missed a trick by leaving him at home.

As for Heskey over Bent…..

Let us know what your thoughts are about the squad. Are you disappointed? Can England challenge for the Cup?

Leave a Reply

