An update

April 14, 2010

Once again, please accept my apologies for the delay in posting. I’d like to say that the major reason was due to work commitments, but if I did I’d be lying. Other than a few games worth of commentary, I haven’t really got an excuse other than my addiction to Football Manager 2010 (but don’t tell the wife!)

So a lot has happened since I last posted, at both Celtic Park and Meadow Lane. Since I’m feeling optimistic today, I’ll start with Notts.

Steve Cotterill’s appointment has quite simply been inspired. The side seem to be much more secure at the back, and have only conceded in two of his games (Bournemouth and Lincoln) and have scored 24 goals. After a long, controversial and emotionally draining season, promotion is all but assured. Good times.

Now, we have to hope that the players can keep the run going and secure the championship, although if I’m honest that’s just a bonus as far as I’m concerned. Promotion was the only thing that really mattered. However, I’m sure we would all be disappointed if we missed out on the trophy after coming so far.

My eyes are already drifting towards the Summer, where I’m certain we will see the new chairman look to address the club’s bank balance. The sale of Kasper Schmeichel will go a long way towards this, as will getting his £18k a week off the wage bill. That being said, I am pleased with the news that both Hughes and Davies will be staying at Meadow Lane. I’m also certain Steve Cotterill will have his eyes on several targets once the embargo has been lifted, so overall I think we’re in for an exciting few months, before we even consider the World Cup!

All I will say is that if my contact near to the chairman is to be believed, we may see a couple of ‘ambitious’ summer signings. Anyway, I’ll worry about that in a few weeks, as we have a party to enjoy first.

As always, I will see you on the Kop.

Leave a Reply

