Rangers’ misfortunes irrelevent until we sort our own house out.

November 12, 2009

On one side of Glasgow today, fans and club representatives are anxiously biting their nails. Today is the day Rangers will discover the extent of their UEFA sanctions, and also reveal just how much debt they are being strangled by. It is also the day the English Premiership clubs once again discuss the prospect of a Premier League 2, including both Old Firm sides. (since I began writing this I’ve heard that the Premiership clubs have rejected the proposal) However, I really couldn’t care less.

My interests right now centre on Celtic Park, and I have no time for basking in the misfortunes of our great rivals. You see, we are terrible on the pitch, and have our own issues to worry about off it.

Anybody who has read my blog over the last few days will know I was furious with the actions of a few ‘supporters’ on Sunday. I was absolutely sickened at the total lack of respect for the dead that a few mindless idiots displayed. I appreciate these ‘fans’ were outside the ground at the time, but as far as I’m concerned using that as an argument is pedantic to say the least. The fact is these idiots are attached to our club. What is doubly galling then, is when I hear some Celtic fans criticise Rangers for the actions of the few in Romania. I’m a massive Celtic fan, but this ‘holier than thou’ attitude amongst some of our support has to end.

Let’s get something straight. The majority of both Celtic and Rangers fans are thoroughly decent people. However, there is still work to do to flush out some of the fools who attach themselves to both sides, in the mistaken idea that they are part of some political ideology. This is a cancer attached to both clubs, who have to work together to cure themselves. And we as supporters have to help.

Then there’s the team. I’ve said for weeks we need a change in ethos, concentrating on youngsters from home and around the globe. I’ve also said PSV are the perfect model for us, a club that play in a poor league yet attract quality players and progress in Europe. Indeed, they were minutes away from the 2005 Champions League Final. If they can do it, why can’t we? It does annoy me a little that we constantly bleat about a lack of investment and demand this England move, when the reality is we can help ourselves by changing our mentality. I know I have said we need the move in previous blogs, and I’d snap up any offer, but realistically we need to look after ourselves. I mean you don’t hear Ajax, Feyenoord or PSV demanding a move to the Bundesliga do you?

However, right now we need immediate investment from the board. It says a lot to me that Rangers, despite all their problems, will go above us if they win their game in hand. And yet some people are blaming Mowbray for this.

Yes, I agree he’s made a few odd decisions. Taking McGeady off and bringing Naylor on during our game with Hamburg being the strangest one. However, I think he should be allowed to make a few mistakes, particularly at this time in the season. After all, he’s still getting to know his players.

Our performance on Sunday was simply unacceptable, but the blame should be laid with the players, as it should for our general performances this year. Mowbray is still using another manager’s team, which is far from ideal. That is where the board come in.

I would hope Mr Lawwell has learnt his lesson from last season, and will put his hand in his pocket to strengthen the squad in January. The thousands of empty seats at Celtic Park won’t have been missed by the board, management or players either. They should be well aware us as fans are pretty fed up with the mediocre performances we are witnessing. From what I’ve heard, I’m certain that will be the case.

If not, I genuinely fear for the future of this great club.

3 Responses to “Rangers’ misfortunes irrelevent until we sort our own house out.”

  1. Wullie Broon Says:

    Good Article. I totally agree with your sentiments.
    We as Celtic fans should not be deflected from the problems that exist in our own back yard.

  2. Social Ambulator Says:

    A lot of good sense there, mate, until you get into detail about Lawell and more investment from the board. We need to manage on our budget if we can’t get into the EPL or an Atlantic league and tap the TV money.

    And let’s leave Lee Naylor alone. The oddness in the move at Hamburg was to push Fox into an attacking role in place of McGeady. Naylor was put on to cover Fox’s position. And as usual, he did a decent defensive job. Didn’t give away any penalties. Fox, however… When did he last put in a good ball from a set piece?

  3. Mike McKenna Says:

    Cheers Social

    My concern with the board is simply that they aren’t prepared to strengthen even when we’re crying out for it. Last year, a £2m striker in January would have won us the league, and with it automatic entry into the CL

    And I wasn’t having a dig at Naylor. I just simply didn’t understand taking McGeady off for him. I could have a dig at Naylor about his crossing, but that’s another matter altogether…


Leave a Reply

