Football the game of the ‘working man?’ Yeah, right.

October 26, 2009

Saturday morning was pretty normal for me. I get up, walk the dogs, eat some fried food and then consider whether I can afford a trip to Meadow Lane. In the end, I decided I couldn’t as I wanted to go to the Shrewsbury match next week, but it did get me thinking; I wondered how many other Notts fans have the same problem every other Saturday, and in the bigger picture, how many football fans in general?

I support a team who plays in the fourth tier of the English game, so what must it be like to be a regular at Spurs, for example? As a result, I thought I’d have a look and find out, and it makes depressing reading.

Whilst I find paying £18 for 90 minutes of football at Meadow Lane (or £25 for most league games at Celtic Park) distasteful, I was amazed at what I discovered at some Premier League clubs. I started with Spurs, for some reason, and I found that tickets would cost me between £27.40 and £42.10 for a ‘smaller’ game (against the likes of Birmingham and Burnley) or £42.10 and £73.40 for a big game. £73! How the hell can that be justified?

Next, I’d decided I’d have a look at one of the ‘big 4’, so I thought I’d look at Manchester United. Straight away, I noticed United didn’t bother categorising matches, and tickets were priced between £27 and £49. Once again, these prices are distasteful, but not quite as bad as Tottenham.

I then looked at Chelsea, who offered general sale tickets for between £44 and £64. Indeed, the deeper I read into the ticket price issue the more depressed I felt. My next port of call was the Arsenal website, which turned my depression to anger.

Like Spurs, Arsenal run a categorised system for different games, and for the smaller games tickets cost between £32.50 and £64.50. However, the bigger games are priced between £47 and £92! By this point, I’d decided enough was enough, and I stopped looking and started writing.

Compare this to the German Bundesliga, which is the up-and-coming league in world football. Most grounds hold in excess of 40,000 fans each week, and almost every game is a sell-out. Here, it is possible to buy a ticket for the equivalent of £9. Yes, that is half of what it costs to watch Notts play Crewe. It’s also possible to get tickets at the San Siro for a Milan game for about £12.

So why the big difference? Obviously, there is a link to the Hillsborough disaster, and the change to all-seater stadia. Indeed, part of the ‘Taylor Report’ specifically recommended that ticket prices were increased to help drive out the hooligan element of some clubs. However, this change has now come at a massive cost.

Football is no longer the game of the working man. I don’t know about you, but most of my friends are now ‘armchair’ supporters, who may go to 3-4 games a season, simply because they don’t have the cash to go to more. And it stinks.

The game in this country has never been richer, with Sky and ESPN pumping in about £1.7billion in the latest TV deals, and yet fans are having to spend more and more to actually go and watch their teams. Some clubs then have the audacity to complain about ‘a poor atmosphere’ at the game!!!! Yes, oh mighty Premier League club, that is because all of your fans are corporate fans, as they are the only people who can afford to go!

I believe it is time for some kind of government intervention to force a ‘price cap’ on these clubs, and stop forcing the real fan out of the game. I know this is a football blog, not a political one, but I think it is necessary to start a protest group of supporters all over the country, forcing the Premier League money to be distributed more fairly, and as a result to bring down ticket prices everywhere.

It’s time clubs stopped fleecing their fans, as without them, there would be no professional game.

I think a few too many clubs have forgotten this. It’s time they were reminded.

As always, I’d appreciate your comments.

4 Responses to “Football the game of the ‘working man?’ Yeah, right.”

  1. Gerry Says:

    Too right, This is a subject that has pissed me off for ages. Just the fact that some of these footballers (like in the big four) are complaining about wages and what-have-you. They should just fuck off.

    The players in the smaller teams (i.e. Bluesquare premier) don’t complain and they play for their mortgagea.

    A salery cut in these big rich footballers would more then likely help this credit crunch taht everyone’s experiencing.

    By the way, If you’re a Premier League footballer moans about your wages not being six figures a week….FUCK OFF

  2. phantomchannel Says:

    I went to a Munich V Cottbus game in 2007 and it cost me just 10 euros. It wasn’t the most entertaining game, but it beats £25 to go see Celtic struggle to break down a non-event team like Glasgow.

    On show that night were players like Ribery, Klose, Podolski, Luca Toni, Demichelis and Van Buyten.

    On closer inpspection something isn’t right. How can the Munich game cost less than £10 despite all those world class players on show, yet I pay almost treble to witness those cluggers Hamilton Academicals?

  3. phantomchannel Says:

    Im prett sure I meant to type Hamilton instead of Glasgow in that first paragraph :0

  4. Darren Says:

    Couldnt agree more Gumbo,
    As you know I have been a Forest season ticket holder for many years and followed them home and away, I stopped this this season and have not missed a second of it.
    The last few years have been utter dross and I have spent over £500 for my season ticket and the 3 times that on away travel due to weekends etc all revolving around Forest- enough is enough and I for one will never pay to watch football again, it simply is not worth it and I have bettr things to do and spend my money on that watch dull football which lacks quality, passion and pride in the shirt- all the things that used to be the cornerstone of our once beautiful game.


Leave a Reply

